The Living Wedge
Michael Krebber

Michael Krebber
The Living Wedge
18 February – 30 April 2017

Opening: Friday 17 February 2017, 6 pm
11 pm music by Justus Köhncke at Playground, Bern



The Living Wedge

Michael Krebber (*1954 in Cologne, lives in New York) has been leading a double life as a rumor for many years. He fostered this iridescence by exhibiting little or nothing. From a certain moment onward, the painter showed a bit more, but it was always about how much an artist ought to display. The scene of this critical self-staging as an actor of art was 1990s Cologne. On account of this prelude, it was for a long time difficult to distinguish Michael Krebber’s activities from what was said, purported, or speculated about him. For many young artists in Europe and the United States, Krebber offers a projection screen that can hardly be overestimated. While little known to the general public, many traits of MK, who repeatedly sheds his skin, are negotiated within the art world. People actually work things through with him in mind.

The Living Wedge, organized in cooperation with the Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto, presents a comprehensive selection of the artist’s works since the 1980s for the first time in Switzerland. The show is thus a culminating point of the Kunsthalle Bern’s program line that puts the meaning of painting for the present and future of art up for debate.

Unfolded in its richness, the rumor Krebber is surprising in view of many things that have been claimed about him. It is often said that what Mr. Krebber does is painting about painting. The exhibition expands this fixed ascription in different lines of flight. What certainly plays a crucial role is the reflection on frames, spaces, and borders, but also on the forms of relation within the painted picture and between the picture and other pictures. Borders appear soft and are more like transitions; an array of possibilities of how an artist can relate to his environment becomes conceivable. Krebber’s environment is the system of art, with the real penetrating this order time and again. The penetration of life does not remain formless, it bores like a delicate thorn into the flesh. The process appears strangely undramatic, no injuries occur, as if a cunning trick had taken effect. A certain coolness characterizes the profane magic of these processes. As a viewer, one sometimes feels a bit short-changed. One is astonished at how much is conjured from almost nothing, and how it catches the eye. In other words, it is a balancing act on the fine line between a multitude of possibilities and the point where it works only in this and no other way. The Living Wedge maneuvers along this fine line. The movement of the wedge is necessitated by the circumstances. Krebber always also has art’s entire set of rules in mind, while simultaneously making the rules himself by overachieving, or also reinterpreting, the given conventions in a highly idiosyncratic way. What then appears as a shifted version are flexible rules. Suddenly, another rule applies, and then yet another rule must apply, because it doesn’t work without rules.

Michael Krebber does not pander to anything, he doesn’t let himself be defined, he acts in a controlled manner, while remaining unpredictable. His means, his lines and spots, are often sparse and expansive at the same time. He is an artist torn between economizing and wasting. He succeeds in achieving the maximum with the least effort, without one being able to say what purpose this acumen serves. Perhaps what we have here is someone who gambles for the highest stakes in deferring the unknown, thus keeping the possibility of an open ending in suspense. The word “hesitating” has repeatedly been used for his artistic moves. Something is delayed, shimmers in provisionality and indeterminacy, so that a space of expectation can unfold. Yet the reason for this action could also lie in the self-referential desire to be surprised by oneself, and also to uphold one of the greatest potentials of art: the outcome of a movement that cannot be foreseen, the search that does not know where it will arrive.

 

Works by Michael Krebber have been presented at Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto (2016), Galerie Buchholz, Cologne/Berlin (2015), Museum Brandhorst, Munich (2015), MUMOK, Vienna (2015), Greene Naftali, New York (2015), Maureen Paley, London (2015), Museum Ludwig, Cologne (2015), Halle für Kunst Lüneburg (2014), dépendance, Brussels (2013), CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux (2012), Real Fine Arts, New York (2011), Kölnischer Kunstverein, Cologne (2008), Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2007), Sammlung Grässlin, St. Georgen (2006), Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht (2006), Secession, Vienna (2005), Richard Telles Fine Art, Los Angeles (2005), The Top Room, London (2001), Kunstverein Braunschweig/Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (2000), Galerie Ascan Crone, Hamburg (1998), Villa Arson, Nice (1997), Musée d’art moderne et contemporain, Geneva (1995), further exhibitions at Galerie Bleich-Rossi, Graz, Christian Nagel, Cologne, Bruno Brunnet Fine Arts, Berlin und Fettstrasse 7a, Hamburg/Zurich.

This exhibition is organized in collaboration with Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto.

On the occasion of this exhibition a two-volume publication will be published by Koenig Books, London edited by Kunsthalle Bern and Fundação de Serralves. Featuring texts by Manfred Hermes, Valérie Knoll/Hans-Christian Dany, and João Ribas. Graphic design: HIT, Berlin.

Kunsthalle Bern would like to thank the city of Bern, the Confederation, the Ruth & Arthur Scherbarth Stiftung, the German Embassy Bern, as well as the Robert Walser-Zentrum for their generous support.
The exhibition was supported by the No Leftovers-Fonds.


Image: Michael Krebber, Untitled (Flat Finish XXXII), 2016, pencil on paper, 22×17.5cm. Courtesy Galerie Buchholz, Berlin/Cologne/New York.

The Living Wedge
Michael Krebber

Michael Krebber
The Living Wedge
18. Februar – 30. April 2017

Eröffnung: Freitag, 17. Februar 2017 ab 18 Uhr
Ab 23 Uhr Musik von Justus Köhncke im Playground, Bern.



The Living Wedge

Michael Krebber (*1954 in Köln, lebt in New York) führte viele Jahre ein Doppelleben als Gerücht. Er leistete diesem Schillern Vorschub, indem er wenig bis gar nichts von sich zeigte. Ab einem bestimmten Moment zeigte der Maler ein bisschen mehr, doch ging es dabei um die Frage, wie viel ein Künstler zeigen soll. Den Schauplatz dieser kritischen Inszenierung seiner Selbst als Akteur der Kunst, bildete das Köln der 1990er Jahre. Durch dieses Vorspiel liess sich Michael Krebbers Tun lange Zeit kaum von dem trennen, was über ihn gesagt, behauptet und spekuliert wurde. Für viele junge Künstler/innen in Europa und den USA stellt Krebber eine kaum zu unterschätzende Projektionsfläche dar. Einem breiten Publikum nur bedingt bekannt, werden kunstintern viele der Züge des sich immer wieder häutenden MK verhandelt. Man arbeitet sich an ihm regelrecht ab.

Die in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto, organisierte Ausstellung, The Living Wedge, zeigt nun erstmals in der Schweiz eine umfassende Auswahl von Werken des Künstlers seit den 1980er Jahren. Die Ausstellung bildet damit einen Höhepunkt in der Programmlinie der Kunsthalle Bern, welche die Bedeutung der Malerei für die Gegenwart und Zukunft der Kunst zur Diskussion stellt.

Das in seinem Reichtum entfaltete Gerücht Krebber überrascht gegenüber vielem, was von ihm behauptet wurde. Über Herrn Krebber wird oft gesagt, bei dem, was er täte, handle es sich um Malerei über Malerei. Die Ausstellung erweitert diese Festschreibung in verschiedene Fluchtlinien. Fraglos spielt das Nachdenken über Rahmen, Räume und Grenzen, aber auch über die Beziehungen des gemalten Bildes, innerhalb dieses und zu anderen Bildern eine wesentliche Rolle. Grenzen erscheinen weich und deuten eher Übergänge an, eine Vielzahl von Möglichkeiten, wie sich ein Künstler zu seiner Umgebung verhalten kann, werden vorstellbar. Krebbers Umgebung bildet das System Kunst, das Reale bricht in diese Ordnung immer wieder ein. Der Einbruch des Lebens bleibt nicht formlos, er bohrt sich wie ein feiner Stachel ins Fleisch. Der Vorgang wirkt auf eine seltsame Art undramatisch, es wird niemand verletzt, so, als käme ein raffinierter Trick zur Wirkung. Eine gewisse Kühle liegt über der profanen Magie dieser Arbeiten. Als Betrachter fühlt man sich manchmal ein wenig über den Tisch gezogen. Man ist verblüfft, wie aus fast gar nichts ganz viel gezaubert wird und den Blick fesselt. Anders formuliert: die Bilder balancieren auf dem Grat zwischen einer Vielzahl an Möglichkeiten und dem Punkt, an dem es nur so und nicht anders geht. Auf dieser schmalen Linie agiert The Living Wedge (Der lebende Keil). Die Bewegung des Keils wird von den Umständen bedingt. Krebber denkt das gesamte Reglement der Kunst stets mit. Ein Bild, eine Ausstellung, eine Publikation entstehen innerhalb des Regelwerks der Kunst.

Zugleich gibt sich Krebber die Regeln selbst, indem er die gegebenen Konventionen höchst eigensinnig übererfüllt, aber auch umdeutet. Bei dem, was sich dann als verschobene Version zeigt, handelt es sich um bewegliche Regeln. Plötzlich gilt eine andere Regel und dann muss wieder eine andere Regel gelten, weil es nicht ohne Regeln geht.

Michael Krebber bedient nicht, lässt sich nicht festlegen, agiert dosiert und bleibt unberechenbar; seine Mittel, seine Striche und Flecken sind oft spärlich und grosszügig zugleich. Ein Gespaltener zwischen Haushaltung und Verschwendung. Es gelingt ihm, mit dem geringsten Aufwand ein Maximum zu erreichen, ohne dass sich sagen liesse, welchem Zweck diese Geschäftstüchtigkeit dient. Vielleicht dem, dass hier jemand mit höchstem Einsatz auf den Aufschub des Unbekannten pokert und so die Möglichkeit eines offenen Endes in der Schwebe hält? Für seine künstlerischen Bewegungen wird immer wieder das Wort „zögern“ gewählt. Etwas wird hinausgezögert, flimmert im Vorläufigen und Unbestimmten, damit sich ein Raum der Erwartung entfalten kann. Vielleicht liegt der Grund für dieses Agieren aber auch in der selbstbezüglichen Lust, immer wieder von sich selbst überrascht zu werden, in jedem Fall dient es zur Wahrung eines der größten Potentiale der Kunst: dem Ausgang einer Bewegung, welche sich nicht absehen lässt, einer Suche, die nicht weiss, wo sie ankommen wird.

Arbeiten von Michael Krebber wurden u.a. präsentiert im Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto (2016), Galerie Buchholz, Köln/Berlin (2015), Museum Brandhorst, München (2015), MUMOK, Wien (2015), Greene Naftali, New York (2015), Maureen Paley, London (2015), Museum Ludwig, Köln (2015), Halle für Kunst Lüneburg (2014), dépendance, Brüssel (2013), CAPC musée d’art contemporain de Bordeaux (2012), Real Fine Arts, New York (2011), Kölnischer Kunstverein, Köln (2008), Galerie Chantal Crousel, Paris (2007), Sammlung Grässlin, St. Georgen (2006), Bonnefantenmuseum, Maastricht (2006), Secession, Wien (2005), Richard Telles Fine Art, Los Angeles (2005), The Top Room, London (2001), Kunstverein Braunschweig/Städtische Galerie Wolfsburg (2000), Galerie Ascan Crone, Hamburg (1998), Villa Arson, Nizza (1997), Musée d’art moderne et contemporain, Genf (1995), weitere Ausstellungen bei Galerie Bleich-Rossi, Graz, Christian Nagel, Köln, Bruno Brunnet Fine Arts, Berlin und Fettstrasse 7a, Hamburg/Zürich.


Die Ausstellung entsteht in Zusammenarbeit mit dem Serralves Museum of Contemporary Art, Porto.

Zur Ausstellung erscheint im Verlag Koenig Books, London, eine zweiteilige Publikation, herausgegeben von der Kunsthalle Bern und der Fundação de Serralves. Mit Texten von Manfred Hermes, Valérie Knoll/Hans-Christian Dany und João Ribas. Grafik: HIT, Berlin.

Die Kunsthalle Bern dankt der freundlichen Unterstützung der Kultur Stadt Bern, der Eidgenossenschaft, der Ruth & Arthur Scherbarth Stiftung, der Botschaft der Bundesrepublik Deutschland Bern sowie dem Robert Walser-Zentrum.
Die Ausstellung wird durch den No Leftovers-Fonds unterstützt.


Bild: Michael Krebber, Untitled (Flat Finish XXXII), 2016, Bleistift auf Papier, 22×17.5cm. Courtesy Galerie Buchholz, Berlin/Köln/New York.