Raw and Delirious

Raw and Delirious
20 June – 30 August 2015

With Mathis Altmann, Leidy Churchman, Michaela Eichwald, Ida Ekblad, Ellen Gronemeyer, Ull Hohn, Yannic Joray, Marlie Mul, Jack Smith, Julie Verhoeven, and Amelie von Wulffen

Opening on 19th june 2015, 6 pm (with BBQ and Party)



Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious

The high availability of technologies has left its mark on contemporary art. Moreover, the artistic field has undergone a massive process of professionalization. There is a certain inner logic to these developments, and they indisputably brought positive changes. And yet, one cannot help but observe them with a slight feeling of unease – a strange sense that an increasing amount of what we see simply fails to affect us. Time and again one encounters detachment, distancing gestures and attitudes, anonymous aesthetics and chilly moods. They may serve to mirror and comment on the realities of contemporary life, realities characterized by sophisticated overproduction, an excess of communication and incessant self-improvement. In critically reflecting on these tendencies, art too runs the risk of falling victim to alienation. This ambivalent situation raises the question of whether artistic production should fall in line with the zeitgeist of everyday life, and to what extent – or whether art should, by contrast, attempt to distance itself and establish a sense of withdrawal.

 

The exhibition Raw and Delirious formulates a longing for situations and experiences that interject into our indolent compliance with the ‘now’, that disrupt smooth poses and attitudes. It articulates a desire for gestures and objects which are vulnerable through their sheer separation, which scrutinize notions of aesthetic appropriateness and inappropriateness, which redefine the untimely – and which tread the boundaries between the acceptable and the unacceptable.

 

The works on display were mostly created using simple or even traditional techniques. They are ostensibly products of workmanship, sometimes to a fault. They are not polite, frictionless or discreet. They do not hide behind a veil of skill and aptitude. Rather, some of these works could be considered too loud, too subjective, too emotional, too enthusiastic, too naïve, too crude, too obscene, too jokey or just too arbitrary.

 

In any case, these exhibits cannot be reduced to a common denominator. They all share an urge for expression and a simple material form. They consistently display raw gestures, often involving the human body in some way. This can get messy, but there is also an overarching craving for purity. These works are distinguished by such ambivalences and dichotomies. The exhibition establishes a veritable kaleidoscope of different forms of disturbance and lack of distance, challenging the possibilities and impossibilities of recalcitrant dissociation.

Raw and Delirious

Raw and Delirious
20. Juni – 30. August 2015

Mit Mathis Altmann, Leidy Churchman, Michaela Eichwald, Ida Ekblad, Ellen Gronemeyer, Ull Hohn, Yannic Joray, Marlie Mul, Jack Smith, Julie Verhoeven und Amelie von Wulffen

Eröffnung am 19. Juni 2015, 18.00 Uhr (mit BBQ und Party)



Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious
Raw and Delirious

Die hohe Verfügbarkeit von Technologien ist für die zeitgenössische Kunstproduktion nicht folgenlos geblieben. Verstärkt wurden die damit einhergehenden Entwicklungen durch eine massive Professionalisierung des Kunstfeldes. Die guten Seiten wie die innere Logik dieser Veränderungen sind unbestreitbar. Dennoch beschleicht einen in ihrem Windschatten ein schales Gefühl: Immer mehr, was man sieht, lässt einen auf seltsame Weise unberührt. Immer wieder Posen der Distanzierung, anonyme Ästhetiken und unterkühlte Stimmungen. Gespiegelt und kommentiert wird eine heutige Lebenswirklichkeit, die von verfeinerter Überproduktion, übermässiger Kommunikation und laufender Selbstoptimierung geprägt ist. Sie wird kritisch betrachtet, entfremdet die künstlerische Produktion aber von sich selbst. Unter diesen ambivalenten Verhältnissen lässt sich die Frage stellen, in welchem Mass künstlerische Produktion mit dem Alltag und dem Zeitgeist ineinanderfallen soll und inwiefern nicht vielmehr das Herstellen einer Absetzung davon dringlich erscheint.

 

In der Ausstellung Raw and Delirious wird eine Sehnsucht formuliert nach Situationen und Erfahrungen, die dieses Ineinanderfallen mit dem Jetzt, die Pose und Glattheit unterbrechen. Ein Wunsch nach Gesten und Objekten, die in ihrer Absonderung angreifbar sind. In denen Fragen nach dem heute ästhetisch Angebrachten und Unangebrachten laut werden. Die das Unzeitgemässe neu bestimmen. Die die Grenzen des Zumut- und Unzumutbaren strapazieren.

 

Die gezeigten Werke arbeiten mit einfachen bis hin zu althergebrachten Techniken. Die Hand ist in ihnen teils bis hin zu ihrem Ungenügen erkenntlich. Sie sind nicht höflich, reibungslos, diskret. Sie schmücken sich nicht mit dem Gewand des Geschickten. Eher kann manchen Werken attestiert werden, sie seien zu laut, zu subjektiv, zu befindlich, zu enthusiastisch und unbefangen, zu krude, zu obszön kalauernd oder zu zufällig.

 

Die Arbeiten lassen sich dabei nicht auf einen inhaltlichen Nenner stilllegen. In Beziehung stehen sie durch ihren Drang zum Ausdruck und ihre einfache Materialität. Immer wieder zeigen sich rohe Gesten, die häufig körperbezogen auftreten. Es kann zu Verunreinigungen kommen, es wird aber auch nach der Reinheit gesucht. Die Werke bewegen sich in einem Zwiespalt.

Die Ausstellung zeigt ein Kaleidoskop an Formen der Störung und Distanzlosigkeiten, die die Möglichkeiten und Unmöglichkeiten einer widerspenstigen Absetzung herausfordern.